a first class municipality in the province of Tawi-Tawi since year 2011, and it is the southernmost settlement of the Philippines. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 30,514 people. It is called the “Venice of the Philippines” due to the use of boats as primary transportation, although footbridges connect one house from another. The major sources of livelihood are fishing and farming, although there is very sparse agricultural land available.



Sitangkai was created as a municipality on August 26, 1959, by virtue of Executive Order No. 355 of President Carlos P. Garcia. On October 21, 2006, with the ratification of Muslim Mindanao Autonomy Act No. 197, 16 of its 25 barangays were transferred to the newly created municipality of Sibutu. All of which are located on Sibutu Island.



Sitangkai is politically subdivided into 9 barangays.

  • Datu Baguinda Putih
  • Imam Sapie
  • North Larap
  • Panglima Alari
  • Sipangkot
  • Sitangkai Poblacion
  • South Larap (Larap)
  • Tongmageng
  • Tongusong



Sitangkai is closer or closest to Sabah, Malaysia which explains the common culture and traditions of the people with its neighbor. The religious identity of the municipality follows that of Maysia where it is narrated in both oral and historical records that the Islamization of Tawi-Tawi, Sulu, and some parts of Mindanao originated from the Indo-Malaysia contacts.




Map of the Philippines showing Sitangkai as the southernmost end of the country.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s